It’s Jim Boyer’s Birthday, plus Great Women Country Singers!

Written by on November 3, 2015

Jim Boyer


Viking Twang Episode 63, November 3, 2015

Good morning, welcome to Viking Twang Episode 63. My name is Randy Black, happy to be here. Hope you haven’t drowned in all this great weather; sure feels like Oregon again, huh?

Our friend Jim Boyer of the Freak Mountain Ramblers and many other Portland bands, had his birthday Sunday, which sounds like cause for a celebration. So we’re going to play a long set of songs from his different projects. Thanks to Don Zerr for the idea.

First, though: If you’ve been listening to the Twang, and I know you have, you know I’m a sucker for classic women country western singers. So we’re going to start the show with some of the best. Here’s Connie Smith:

1 – Turkey Red; W.C. Beck & the Portland Country Underground, from Kansawyer.
2 – If It Ain’t Love (Let’s Leave It Alone); Connie Smith. A Dallas Frazier song Connie recorded in 1972.
3 – Cigarette and Coffee Blues; Jean Shepard. A Marty Robbins song Jean recorded in January, 1964.
4 – Will Your Lawyer Talk to God? Kitty Wells. A Harlan Howard song from 1962.
5 – I Don’t Wanna Play House; Tammmy Wynette. From 1967; Her first solo hit, written by Billy Sherrill and Glenn Sutton.
6 – A Poor Man’s Roses (Or a Rich Man’s Money); Patsy Cline. That’s from 1956.
7 – Big Girls Don’t Cry; Lynn Anderson. A song she wrote and recorded in 1968.
8 – As the Sparrow Goes; Anita Carter. She wrote this with her sister June and Merle Kilgore, and recorded it in 1962.

The great Portland singer, songwriter, and guitar player Jim Boyer celebrated his birthday doing what he does best on Sunday, playing with the Freak Mountain Ramblers at the Laurelthirst Public House. He has his own Jim Boyer Band and plays in Lynn Conover’s band, Gravel, with Dan Haley. Here he is from the 1993 album, Live at the Laurelthirst.

9 – Another Night; Jim Boyer Band. With Dan Haley, Tim Acott, Neil Gilpin and Kid Tulsa.
10 – Ruthie’s Moan; from his 2011 solo album, Trestle, on Red Newt Records, with Dave Reisch on bass and Jessie Spero on drums.
11 – Here I Come Again; also from Trestle; Lewi Longmire is on guitar and organ.
12 – It Happens Every Day; That’s Lynn Conover on the harmonies, Lex Browning on mandolin, and Paul Brainard on pedal steel.
13 – Sweet Wine, Ragtime Bitters; That’s from his 2003 album, Time Spent, with Dave Reisch on bass and Yasha Noonberg on drums and piano, and an all-star cast including Paul Brainard, David Lipkind, Lewi Longmire, David Pugh, and Kevin Richey.
14 – Road Sister; also from Time Spent.
15 – Three Sheets to the Wind; from Time Spent.
16 – Pony Express; the Freak Mountain Ramblers. From their 2001 album, Looks Perfectly Legal to Me.
17 – Twang Theme; the Countrypolitans, from Tired of Drowning.





  • Turkey Red
    W.C. Beck & the Portland Country Underground
  • If It Ain't Love (Let's Leave It Alone)
    Connie Smith
    The Essential Connie Smith
  • Cigarettes and Coffee Blues
    Jean Shepard
    Greatest Hits -- All Original Recordings
  • Will Your Lawyer Talk To God?
    Kitty Wells
    Countrypolitan Classics -- Kitty Wells
  • I Don't Wanna Play House
    Tammy Wynette
    Tammy's Greatest Hits
  • A Poor Man's Roses (Or A Rich Man's Money)
    Patsy Cline
    The Patsy Cline Story
  • Big Girls Don't Cry
    Lynn Anderson
    16 Biggest Hits
  • As The Sparrow Goes
    Anita Carter
    Dusty Country Records
  • Another Night
    Jim Boyer Band
    Live at the Laurelthirst
  • Ruthie's Moan
    Jim Boyer
  • Here I Come Again
    Jim Boyer
  • It Happens Every Day
    Jim Boyer
  • Sweet Wine, Ragtime Bitters
    Jim Boyer
    Time Spent
  • Road Sister
    Jim Boyer
    Time Spent
  • Three Sheets To the Wind
    Jim Boyer
    Time Spent
  • Pony Express
    Freak Mountain Ramblers
    Looks Perfectly Legal to Me
  • Twang Theme
    Tired of Drowning

  • Show Notes & Show Blogs


    Reader's opinions

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Continue reading

    Skip to content